Sitting like a Burmese

TailorEach Sunday after worship in our main American service, I help with our ushering team and then slip upstairs for the conclusion of Pastor I.I.’s sermon.  I like to be there with my friends even though I can’t understand a word of the three languages (Lao/Thai, S’gaw Karen, and Burmese)  spoken/translated  during the sermon.    This week when I got there I found eight Burmese gentlemen sitting at the back of the church on the floor.  Now I have not yet mastered how they sit.  They kind of squat (or cross their legs), and can do so for a long time.   In fact I have found in their homes they like the floor just as well as the furnished sofas for lounging.  Well in solidarity with the Burmese men I slipped into their seated row and sat on the floor (but I sat with my legs to one side).  You see there were not enough seats for everyone in the Lao church.   What a blessing to see God’s house filled with people who want to worship the Lord.

The picture above is of Ka Hten, he is new arrival with tailor skills, he got a temporary sewing job in Winston-Salem.   Someone got him a used sewing machine for use at home and you should see the things he can make.  He has his sights set on buying an industrial sewing machine he saw in a Harbor Tool ad circular.   He is the single father of three grown sons with an extended family of in-laws and grandchildren.  They are a bundle of fun to be around.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on June 17, 2008, in K-L, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. jasonmcmurphy

    Bet it was pretty hard for you to get back up after getting on the ground. just kidding

Leave a Reply

