We have this Moment

When I was younger I remembered hearing and singing this song by Bill and Gloria Gaither that talks about the fleeting moments we have with our family and how important that we take advantage of the moments that we do have.   Today I am thinking of that in the context of our church family.

Bah Blue Htoo
Bah Blue Htoo

In May Bah Blue Htoo, came to the United States from a refugee camp of Burmese in Thailand.  He had been raised by his aunt and uncle in Thailand from the time he was six months old.   Bah Blue Htoo call his aunt “mother.  He has a fiancee in Thailand.  He started attending our First Wesleyan Church almost immediately.  Bah Blue Htoo, nicknamed “Tom”, went with Pastor Inthava Inthisane to get his NC Driver Learner’s Permit in the first week after his arrival.   He is very good with his English.  But alas he was not able to find permanent work.  A couple of weeks ago I received word that he was planning to move.    His aunt and uncle are refugees who resettled in Salt Lake City about a year ago.  They had heard that he did not have a job and want to help care for him.   Kay an LDS volunteer has arranged a flight to Salt Lake City to move him to Utah on Friday.

About two weeks ago I wrote an e-mail to some of you in my inner circle expressing my concern about Tom needing to be near other Christian so that he could grow in his walk with the Lord.  I was concerned in my spirit for Tom.   This evening, as he told me of the final details of his departure, I was able to find out more information that encouraged my soul.   First, Tom did share with me that he has trusted Jesus as his personal Savior.  Second he said, besides his aunt and uncle, he believes there are many additional Burmese people in Salt Lake City.  My heart was lightened and I believe we need to pray that this Burmese community,  which includes many Christians will be able to be a strong Christian light in Utah.

There have been other brief moments in time that we have had with Burmese refugees.  I spent an afternoon working with Ta Lu Lu in the first week of his arrival and then two weeks later he and his brother had moved to Indiana.    I think also of baby Moses, born at 24 weeks and then living in the hospital for just 5 weeks.   We just have a moment in time to minister and give a cup of cold water in Jesus’ name.
About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on July 9, 2008, in A-B, T-U, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

