Life Story: Biak Cin Thang

[This posting is in the first person because Biak typed it out and gave me a copy for the blog].

Biak and Pastor Inthava

Biak and Pastor Inthava

Both of my grandparents passed away in animistic belief. My mom told me that when she was a child, she loved to go Sunday school.  Whenever she went to Sunday school, she was beaten by her parent.  So, she used to go to Sunday school secretly.  Though her parent’s belief was animist, my mother accepted Jesus Christ as her personal Savior. Until her parents passed away, she used to go to church secretly.

My dad told me that he was just a namesake Christian, he had not accepted Jesus Christ as his personal Savior.  He had been an orphan, he lived as he liked, no one told him what to do nor took care of him. Almost half of his life he spent in road construction to make a living.

After my dad met my mother, my mom always taught him about Jesus Christ. At first my dad refused to listen. But my mom had a hope and she continued telling about Jesus.Sometimes, my mom requested the pastor and deacon to teach my dad.  My mom never grew discouraged for my dad, she continued teaching with prayer.

One day, the pastor came to my dad and taught him about faith. The pastor told him that if you believe in Jesus Christ and have faith in Him then whatever you asked it will be given to you, saying that God is the giver of human needs.  My dad was touched by the pastor’s words.

My dad put one question to the pastor, if I ask God for a son, will He give me a boy?  The pastor replied saying, that if you ask God in faith then you will be given.   From that time on my dad started praying to God asking for a son.  He requested the pastor, his church members and others villager to help in his prayer for a son.  Some people were surprised by my dad.

He even made a vow to God that if You give me a son, he will live and serve only You. And the son will be named Biak Cin Thang.  This vow was the prayer of my dad to God.

God listened to the prayer of my dad and other believers, after two years I was born.  My dad took me to the church and said this son will only serve the Lord.

When I grew up I was quite the opposite from my dad’s vow, I acted as I liked.  My parents and my siblings were very sad. There was no happiness in my family.  Because of me, my family was in the bondage of sorrow.

In April 2001 I worked in road construction to earn money. At that time every night my friends were drinking alcohol and fighting each other. At that time God spoke to me saying, “Do you see this people?  Who is going to teach them, they do not know what they are doing?  God spoke into my heart asking, where are you now?  From that moment I came to know that I had been astray.

God never forgot my dad’s prayer, He changed my heart to serve Him. I prayed that I might go for theological education so that my ministry would be more effective.  So, I returned back alone from road construction.

I told my parents that I have desire to study theology and serve the Lord.  When they heard that they were overwhelmed. At the same time, they were sad because they knew that they could not support me for my training.  My sibling were also overjoyed, they were ready to stop their education and earn money for my schooling.

But I told them about the faith of Abraham.  He took his son as an offering to God and traveled a long way with his two servants.  On the way Abraham told his two servants, “You wait here for Isaac and I.  We will go to worship the Lord. And he said we will be back” Abraham did really return with his son.  I said to my family that God is there to provide my needs in His time, I will be back with a degree.

And with prayer I went to study His Word, it was amazing that God always met my need in time.Through the love of God , by the prayer support of my family and church members, I was able to complete my Bible college training. If God is willing I have a heart to go for higher education.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on July 27, 2008, in A-B, Life Stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

