Our Hope is in the Name of the Lord

“Labor not for that which perishes”.  These words of Jesus from the King James text give me pause as I think about the treadmill toward retirement.  Medicare, 401k plans, investments, and paid mortgages seem prudent but can we really put our trust in material things?    What are you working for, what guarantees do you really have.   How easily can we all end up like Job with severe setbacks.   Our hope must be in Jesus.  He is the Person we can trust.  He has the resources to take care of us.

The other day I heard about one of our First Wesleyan Lao parishioners, who works eight hours a day six days a week.  He and his wife made a decision to buy a second small rental house.  Their primary vision for the house is to provide affordable housing for our Burmese families.  I believe this is the kind of investment God can bless.   I am going to pray that God would abundantly bless this man and his family has they bless a Burmese family.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on September 6, 2008, in Not for the Faint of Heart!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

