Who is waiting for your help?

A few weeks ago, I was visiting some friends, Thang Tlang and Hlamay, who live on Asheboro street here in High Point.  We first met them last December when they had moved into a rough neighborhood where they had no Burmese friends.  The first visit was to help them because their heater was not working.  Susie Curtis loaned them a space heater which I took by their house.   We also looked at their fuse box to try to get things working.

God has now blessed this family with three neighboring Burmese families.  When I was there last month one of these neighbors, a Moslem wife, was hanging around outdoors while we were talking inside the house.   Finally when we went out the door she said “Water”.  My friend, who can translate said they were having a problem with their water.   So I went over to their house.   I found the hot water faucet in the shower had broken off and water was gushing out.  I realized this had been going on for a while because the water was no longer hot.  Well we tried to shove the faucet back in place, that didn’t work, then I went under the house to see if I could find a shut off valve.   Finally I took the husband out near the road looking for a water meter box.  We found a box.  When we opened it instead of their being the regular valve, which requires a special tool, their was a hose bib valve which we could shut off by hand.  We were able to put the crisis on hold and have them make arrangements with their landlord for repairs the next day.

I was thinking how we can go through life not sensitive to the needs around us.   This lady was waiting patiently in the front yard while my friends and I were just chatting away.  Meanwhile hundreds of gallons of water were pouring down her bathtub.

Right now there is a gentleman, Rah Wah, who can’t get his refridgerator to work and I found out, from a friend, it seems to be the electrical circuit.  I know about the problem but have been busy with other Burmese needs and can’t look at it.   Maybe you could loan him an electrical cord until we can get it fixed by the landlord.    Have you thought about getting involved with the Burmese?

Another Burmese mother is facing a scheduled major surgery in a couple of weeks.  She speaks very good English.  She needs a friend to pray with her and encourage her through this procedure.  Yesterday she told me she woke up very fearful.

There are three Burmese right now that need someone to take them to our church parking lot during the week and to teach them the basics of driving.  They need to learn basic control, parking, backing up, signaling and stopping correctly.

A mother, Sui Khen [Swee Can] and her adult daughter Esther Mon, were picked up at the airport on Saturday night at 9:00 as they arrived from Malaysia.   Esther speaks good English.   They need friends to welcome them and encourage them.

A family that arrived in High Point a few weeks ago needed to learn how to shop in an economical way for their groceries.  They are receiving money for food but need to learn some basic things.  I think one patient shopping trip with them would get them on track to make their money stretch for the month.

Who is waiting for your help?

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on September 29, 2008, in E-G, H-J, Myamar - you - the next chapter....., Q-R, S, T-U, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

