A Note from Klo Say about Ler Por Hur

Dear All,

I just would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to a little fund raising project organized by Ler Por Hur (War –affected and Internally Displaced Karen’s Community School). Ler Por Hur is an internally displaced area located in Burma.

With the fall of the Karen Headquarters many refugees in remote areas fled to refugee camps in Thailand. For some Karen people who lived in an inaccessible mountainous region it was hard for them to make a trip to the refugee camp. They had to stay in uncertain and precarious situations. If the enemy came to their villages they fled into the deeper forest or more remote areas which they considered safe. If they didn’t flee they could get caught, might be tortured, asked to do forced labor, raped, killed and their villages burnt down into ashes. If the situation was seriously deteriorating they might have to move two to three times within a year. Living in such unstable remote, outlying areas they have no proper access to health care, education, and other humanitarian services.

Ler Por Hur is a War-affected and Internally Displaced Karen’s Community School. The school has children from its own area and also school kids from other displaced areas who come to study there as well. Even though living under harsh condition those kids love to go to school so much. They also love God and they even built a small worshiping place where they regularly meet, especially on Sunday. The parents are very supportive for their kids’ education. They try everything they can to send their kids to school. Apparently the parents are very poor. As a matter of fact their livelihood, their self-sufficient way of living have been disturbed and distorted by the Burmese army for years in various ways. As a result they become impoverished and deprived of everything.

Before I came into the United States I had a discussion with the Ler Por Hur’s principal about doing something for those destitute school kids. We came up with an idea of a fund raising project for those kids. As a fund raising project we produced calendar and postcards. The pictures on the calendar and postcards portray real life situation in the internally displaced area. Most of the paintings and pictures are contributed by me and I thank God so much for giving me a little talent to use for the benefit of my people and for the glorification of his name. The money we get from the sale of postcards will solely be used to buy books, pens, candle light, and food necessities for those kids.

I have some calendar and postcards sent to me by Ler Por Hur’s principal. Right now I have several 2008 calendars and about some sets of postcards that are awaiting for you.

So I would like share this opportunity with you to support our fund raising project by extending your generous support and sharing the blessing of God with those needy kids. We pray that God will always smile on you when he sees you helping his needy children. We are happy, as well as God, when we make someone happy. Please pass the information of this fund raising project to your friends and neighbors  so that they can also share the blessing of God to those kids.

If you have any question about anything please feel free to ask me.

Kind Regards

Klo Say

[This school is led by a close relative of several of our Burmese parishioners.  Contact Klo Say for more information].

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on November 10, 2008, in K-L, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Melody Hennessee

    Hi John,

    What great stories by you and Klo Say. It makes me so sad to hear the terrible conditions that Klo Say, his family and all these families faced. I am so glad they made it safely here. I would like to buy some of Klo Say’s post cards. How much are they and where do I get them?

    Also, does he need help in making a 2009 calendar? Maybe we could sell some in the big church as a fund-raiser at Christmastime? I have a program on my computer that I used last year to make some calendars. I can use digital pictures that are sent to me on email or on a CD.

    Klo Say is a very good artist. I would love to see an exhibit of his work at the Arts Council, along with his story.

    Also, I would love to talk to him about doing a children’s story with his story!

    Thank you for all your help.
    Melody

  1. Pingback: Life Story: Klo Say « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

  2. Pingback: Curry for Christmas! « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

  3. Pingback: Government Smack Down of Ler Per Hur « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

  4. Pingback: Christmas was Happy this Year « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

  5. Pingback: Thanks from the Orphanage: Guest Post, Klo Say « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

