Guest Post: Carolyn Winslow

p1010161I teach fourth grade girls in Sunday School.  It is fun to have some craft events during the year.  One of my favorite projects is to make flowers from ribbon which are then placed in a clay pot and used as a decoration.  Each pot of “ribbon flowers” requires cutting about 25 pieces in advance.  This is very time consuming; so much so, that every year I declare that I won’t do it again.  Then I had an idea!!!

Early in the fall, I invited a few junior-high and high school Burmese girls as well as a few of the girls who are in the First Wesleyan youth group to come help me cut ribbon for this craft for this year’s Sunday school class.  We had snacks and conversation, and the Anglo First Wesleyan girls invited the Burmese First Wesleyan girls to come to youth group on Wednesday nights.  The event was polite and cordial.

p10101711

The girls from our youth group came back to help me prepare for another craft project with my current class of fourth grade girls.  After we completed that project (making cinnamon ornaments) with my class, I decided to invite the Burmese girls who are 5th-12th grade to come and make the cinnamon ornaments and asked the girls from our youth group who have been helping me this fall to come and assist.

We ate pizza and snacks and began to roll out the dough.  Again, everything was cordial and polite.  The Anglo girls helped and carried on conversations with the Burmese girls.  One of the Burmese girls was sitting at the table working next to me and she started singing a Beatles song…..”You say goodbye, I say hello”. One of the girls from our youth group, Chelsea, started singing back.  Then the two of them stood up and sang for everyone with one of them singing the “you say…” part and the other singing the “I say…” part.   It was such fun!

p1010178

This time toward the end of the afternoon, the “Anglo girls” told the Burmese girls that they wanted to visit the Burmese youth group …soon!

Carolyn Winslow

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on November 25, 2008, in C-D, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

