My Tire Blew Up

One of our Burmese friends, who recently acquired a car, caught me on Sunday morning a couple of weeks ago and said, “My tire blew up”.   On their way to church, while picking up a second Burmese family their tire went flat.   They left the car in a parking lot and were offered a ride by a passing Hispanic family.   After church we changed into old clothes and I took the father over to change his tire.    Little did I know, about two weeks earlier, while on an eastern shore Maryland highway, when I had a blow out, that I was just getting a refresher course to get ready to help my Burmese friend. 

I taught him where to find the jack, how to release the spare tire from under the mini-van, how to use a scissor jack, loosen lug nuts and swap out the spare tire.  A week or so later I took him to a tire shop to have them plug the tire and remount it on the wheel.  All of these things are new to this Burmese father who had rarely even seen a vehicle in his native village let alone be responsible for its upkeep.  But he is a fast learner and will be able to do this for himself the next time.  This basic practical ministry is very fulfilling to me.  Things that come easy to Americans are part of a steep learning curve for our new arrivals.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on March 24, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

