What’s that I hear???

Two scripture passages and a story:   II Sam. 5:22-25.

David was to wait until he heard a sound from the Lord in the trees before he was to attack the Philistine enemies.  He was to wait at a specific place, in front of the balsam (mulberry) trees.   When he heard the moving of God in the trees he was to move out, assured of victory.

Second passage:  (Acts 16:9 NIV)  During the night Paul had a vision of a man of Macedonia standing and begging him, “Come over to Macedonia and help us.”

Paul had a vision from God that he was to go over to Macedonia and minister.   This makes me think of my earlier post about Blackaby’s teaching and our responsiveness to God’s moving.

Now the story.  This weekend I drove to Lumberton to pick up some Burmese fathers so that they could be home with their families.  In preparing to go I have been praying about the 300 Burmese who live in Lumberton with family members working at Mountaire Farms’ chicken processing plant.   I had the opportunity to meet Frances, who was a former school principal in a refugee camp.  I asked him if they have had yet found a church to attend.   He said no, we try one church and then another.  I asked how he got to Lumberton.  He said he came into the US to Austin, TX and then moved to Lumberton for work.  He is like many other Burmese arriving in this North Carolina town from around the US in order to get a job.

So my prayer is, what is God doing, and what is my role.  In the mean time here are some pictures:

Kap Cue Tang, Saw Ler Paw and Frances (front l-r)

Below is Tom La (in the gray T-shirt) in front of the apartment he shares with Cal Vey and others.

Here is a picture of  Saw Ler Paw and friends in front of his house.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on April 28, 2010, in C-D, E-G, K-L, S, T-U, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

