God let me see a glimpse…

It’s not my story anymore, it is what God is doing, but I have a snap shot of James Sai Ruma talking to some of the Kayah (Karenni)  leaders in Lumberton.  I also caught a glimpse of this new ministry.

Nearby Lumber Bridge is the location of a chicken processing plant that employees over 150 Burmese.   Currently 350 Burmese (Kayah) live in Lumberton, and many are secondarily migrating there from all over the nation (Washington state, Massachusetts, Oregon, and etc).

James Sai Ruma and Two Lumberton Karenni Leaders

When James called me last week he said David Walters (my son’s father-in-law) told him to talk to me about the Burmese in High Point.  James is a pastor in the Evangelical Methodist Church (EMC) denomination and so is Pastor Walters.

[My Baptist family joined the EMC when I was 10 because of the local congregation’s work with teens (there were 5 teens in my family at the time).  I was sent to Bible school by that church and was first ordained by them in 1976 in Wichita, KS at their general conference.   I served a couple of their west coast congregations and pastored one of their churches in eastern Oregon.   In 1979 I moved to the east coast and joined the Wesleyan denomination. ]

James is in the United States on a 60 day tour with his denomination to determine how the migrating Burmese people are doing.  He and Rev. David Hayes spent some time with me last week in town and I mentioned the Lumberton situation.   We began to brainstorm about doing a preaching mission with James in Lumberton.

On Wednesday several pastors and leaders of the EMC met in Lumberton, on a fact finding mission to determine what they might do in Lumberton.  They found that James Hardy (an employment contractor for Mountainaire Farms) had available facilities for a meeting, local Karenni were available to help with music and Karenni community leaders were very open to having a worship service led by James.

Monday, July 5, the EMC will hold a preaching mission in Lumberton.  The nearby Raeford EMC will be able to offer strategic support.  Pray for this service.  Pray for God’s future direction.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on July 4, 2010, in H-J, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. After Rev James Sairuma left us in 2002 (?) from Union Bible Seminary (UBS), Pune today is the first time I saw his picture or learnt about his Ministry. If anybody could tell me how I could contact him, I will be very grateful to such person.

  1. Pingback: James Sai Ruman « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

  2. Pingback: Lumberton News « Johnmcmurphy’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

