Dr. Ola Hanson, Missionary with the Kachin

Yesterday I was visiting with my Kachin friends Knaw Bawk and RoiJi [Reggie].  They arrived in America less than a year ago.  They came by way of New Delhi from the Kachin province of Burma.  Knaw Bawk is a Bible college graduate. Knaw Bawk and his wife read and speak English.  Knaw Bawk plays the violin and helps with the preaching in the Burmese language service.

They mentioned to me the missionary who gave the Kachin people, their alphabet and Bible.  His name was Dr. Ola Hanson.  Dr. Hanson was an American Baptist missionary assigned to the Kachin province about 100 years ago.  He was born in Sweden and then his family immigrated to the US settling in Oakland, Nebraska.  He received his training at what is now Bethel Seminary (Minnesota).

He wrote a book about the Kachin people which is available in electronic form at this link.  A thumbnail sketch about him is on Wikipedia at this link.  Below is a picture, taken around 1900 AD, of Hanson with his wife.

Thank the Lord for missionaries like the Hanson’s that gave the best years of their life to reach Burmese people through preaching, translating the Bible and making hymns available to the church that emerged in the Kachin province of Burma.  Here is a link to a video of the Hanson Memorial Chapel located in the Kachin state of Myanmar.

I am going to add this link to a Kachin blog, it seems to give general news about events in Burma but since I don’t know the Kachin language I can’t vet it as well as I would like.   It does have a substantial English section.

The Triad area of North Carolina has about 10 Kachin residents that I know about at this time, all but one of them attend First Wesleyan Church.

About johnmcmurphy

Jesus is first and foremost in my life. He is above all religions, principalities and powers. In everything He must increase and I must decrease. Into the hands of Jesus, God has placed life and death, truth and purity. strength and meaning. Only in a growing understanding of the triune God, and his son Jesus can I do, breathe, exist and serve. I have a Bachelor's degree in Bible from Vennard College, a Master's in Social Science from Azusa Pacific University and a Ph. D. from Ohio State in Family Relations and Human Development. I am an ordained pastor involved in cross-cultural ministry. I am currently employed at several colleges as an instructor. If you need to get in touch with me, just leave a comment, I screen all comments and so you can leave further contact information which I will erase before it is published. -John

Posted on November 21, 2010, in Kachin, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

